Which audio interface?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by devc, Feb 4, 2009.

1. devc macrumors newbie

I am looking at getting a USB/Firewire audio interface.
    I will be using it to record vinyl via a technics sl1210 turntable so it will need to have an L and R stero phono input and also somewhere to ground the earth from the turntable.
    I will need ideally 4 phono outputs (to mixer/monitor) and also MIDI connections in case I hook a MIDI controller up (or even better if the audio interface has some midi controls on it).

Is there such a device that meets my requirements?

Thanks in advance.

2. RemarkabLee macrumors 6502a

www.m-audio.com :cool:

3. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

WinterMute

4. devc thread starter macrumors newbie

I was looking at them but couldnt decide which product would suit me needs?
    Would I need to put the phono leads from the turntable into another connector before inputting into the audio interface?
    Sorry I'm new to all this so still learning!

5. devc thread starter macrumors newbie

I have read that thread and understand the concept of recording, but I'm still unsure how to connect the phono outputs (and ground) of a turntable to say the M-Audio Fast Track Pro? I can't see any phono inputs so I assume I need an adaptor?

6. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

WinterMute

Grab a stereo phono to twin mono 1/4" jack cable from your local AV outlet or get a standard phono stereo cable and a couple of phono to jack plug adaptors.

7. devc thread starter macrumors newbie

And then how do the jack plugs connect to the M-Audio Fast Track Pro? I dont see any suitable inputs.

8. ChrisA macrumors G4

Check driver support before you buy from m-audio. Go to the above web site's down load page and see if they support your version of Mac OS X. (Hint 10.5.6 is not supported.)

Most stuff will work fine but corner cases don't, like using two audio interfaces at ones or the higher speed setting.)