Which band do devices use with Time Capsule?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by richard13, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. richard13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Mill Creek, WA
    #1
    Hi.

    I have a 1TB Time Capsule. Not sure which generation it is but I do know it has simultaneous dual-band. Up until now I haven't given my 5Ghz band a different name and have Time Capsule configured for 5Ghz n, 2.4Ghz b/g/n, trusting that my devices would determine which band to use automatically.

    But I'm wondering, is there any way to tell for sure? I think I remember a long time ago that the AirPort Utility gave more options so you could see which devices were connecting to which bands but I may be mistaken.

    I experimented by giving my 5Ghz network a different name and found that my devices didn't switch to it without being told. This makes me wonder if they were defaulting to 2.4Ghz all along.

    Anyone know?

    Thanks!
     
  2. nephron8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    #2
    it does not matter.
    it depends on device support.
    if it has 5 ghz , it will connect on that band.
    else 2.4
     
  3. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #3
    The best way to get devices to use 5Ghz is to give the 5Ghz band a different network name.
    Then set the order of WiFi Preferred Networks in each device's System Preferences>Network>WiFi>Advanced to reflect this.
     
  4. richard13 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Mill Creek, WA
    #4
    Thanks guys. Yea, I gave my 5Ghz network a different name and chose it manually. I just with there was a way to confirm that this really was happening automatically without that.
     
  5. johnnyturbouk, Dec 15, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2012

    johnnyturbouk macrumors 68000

    johnnyturbouk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    on the yellow [oled] brick road to tech nirvana.
    #5
    sorry to go off topic
    i wonder when apple will release an updated wifi:ac-version of the time capsule?
     
  6. richard13 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Mill Creek, WA
    #6
    wifi:ac-version? Huh? Air conditioning?
     
  7. johnnyturbouk macrumors 68000

    johnnyturbouk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    on the yellow [oled] brick road to tech nirvana.
    #7
    IEEE 802.11ac - the next big standard in wifi

    1 gigabit per second and a maximum single link throughput of at least 500 megabits per second (500 Mbit/s)

    and

    anandtech.com-review

    and

    review of 5 802.11ac routers
     

Share This Page