iPhone Which baseband for IOS5.1.1 jailbreak?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by deanjames, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. deanjames macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    #1
    Hi all!

    I have an iphone4 with baseband 01.59.00 and IOS 5.1.1 with baseband preserved, jailbroken using Absinthe.

    I have just unlocked the phone today from the carrier using iTunes, as the phone has been out of contract for a long time.

    I never get more than 1 bar of signal, which is a known issue due to incompatible baseband.

    Which is the best baseband version can I magically download and merge with an IOS5.1.1 IPSW file to ensure that I can continue to jailbreak now and in the future?

    I will ONLY consider untethered jailbreak, given that I only wish to resolve my "1 signal bar" issue.

    Thank you in advance :)

    Dean
     
  2. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #2
    Since your iPhone is now factory unlocked from your carrier, just restore in iTunes. Then jailbreak again using absinthe. The baseband has nothing to do with jailbreaking.
     
  3. deanjames thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    #3
    Wow... The days of worrying about that are long gone then?

    Can I literally update 'as a normal person would do' in iTunes and forget all the usual redsn0w messing around?!

    Quite extraordinary, if true...
     
  4. BumpyFlatline, Sep 7, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2012

    BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #4
    Yup. Since you now have an official carrier unlock, "restore as new" in iTunes which will update your phone to 5.1.1 with the newest stock baseband, and then jailbreak using absinthe or redsn0w. If you do not wish to have your phone jailbroken then skip that step. Just restore as new to 5.1.1 and you'll have the latest firmware and baseband, your phone will be offially unlocked, and you'll have a completely normal, fully working signal indicator! Enjoy!
     
  5. deanjames thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    #5
    Excellen news, thanks for the clarification.

    In the old days I'd been told to never update with iTunes, as apple may change the software baseband without warning and untetheredjail breaking could be difficult.

    Thanks!
     
  6. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #6
    Ultrasn0w would have fixed your 1-signal bar issue, but as you now have a carrier unlock just restore to stock 5.1.1

    The devs warned about the stock update for unlockers, has nothing to do with a untethered jailbreak.
     
  7. deanjames thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    #7
    In the past I've found ultrasn0w to be unreliable and a great battery drain. As a last resort it's good, but it's never been 100% reliable for me. Wanted to avoid it in this case.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Yes, like mentioned above.
    Just restore to the latest firmware with itunes and then JB it.
    You cannot download a baseband version and merge it or whatever else you had in mind.
    The baseband can either maintained by leaving it untouched with a custom ipsw or upgraded using a firmware. Its never downloaded seperate.
    Baseband has to do just with unlocking, doesnt effect the JB.
     
  9. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #9
    Ultrasn0w worked perfect on my IP4 and never was a battery drain, used from 4.01 through all iOS upgrades including 5.1.1

    Must have been some other tweaks that drained your battery.
     
  10. deanjames thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    #10
    Very true, although I regularly had 'no service' with ultrasn0w even after fresh reinstalls.

    I've been on IOS 4.0.2 for 2 years until last week, so it was probably an SBSSettings thing
     

Share This Page