Which books will help me get into iPhone developement?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by klamse25, May 11, 2010.

1. klamse25 macrumors 6502a

klamse25

Any recommendations on what I should do?
    I'm looking at a book that got pretty good reviews for learning objective-c.
    http://www.amazon.com/Programming-Objective-C-2-0-Stephen-Kochan/dp/0321566157/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1273619685&sr=1-1There's also another book I'm looking at that teaches you the basic of the SDK and a tiny bit of Objective-C.
    http://www.amazon.com/Teach-Yourself-iPhone-Application-Development/dp/0672330849/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1273619781&sr=1-1
    Anyone heard of these books, or any comments on them?
    Any recommendations to get me started?
    I have no experience at all with developing any type of applications for anything, and just need to learn with some type of book... I have also heard that starting with developing Mac applications would be a good thing to do, is this true?
    Thanks for your help! :)

2. dejo Moderator

dejo

Staff Member

"Programming in Objective-C 2.0" (Kochan) followed by "Beginning iPhone 3 Development" (Mark, LaMarche) are the most recommended around here.

3. klamse25 thread starter macrumors 6502a

klamse25

Thanks so much. So are you recommending to read the book about objective-c first, then the iPhone developement book after?

4. dejo Moderator

dejo

Staff Member

Yes.

5. klamse25 thread starter macrumors 6502a

klamse25

Thank you for your help. Have a good day!

6. cc2096 macrumors regular

cc2096

7. klamse25 thread starter macrumors 6502a

klamse25

Thanks for the recommendation. I'll definitely learn the C programming language first!

8. skochan macrumors regular