Which car GPS to get?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by danny_w, Aug 18, 2007.

1. danny_w macrumors 601

I'm new to the gps game and am looking for advice. I bought a Magellan Maestro 3100 (basic gps w/3.5" screen) for $200 to try and I like it a lot (very easy to read display and simple menu system), but was wondering what other's experiences are. I don't want to spend a lot, since I will probably not use it that much, but it could be nice for getting me to unfamiliar places even where I live. I also looked at the Garmin nuvi 200 and really liked its simple interface and detailed maps (the Magellan has no setting for map detail). I would really like a bigger screen and bluetooth speakerphone capability, but those really add a LOT to the price. The one real exception seems to be the Mio C520, but it just seems too "geeky" and difficult to use (but it has lots of options that nobody else seems to have at any price). The Maestro will not let you add stops (vias) to a simple route that is already generated, the Garmin lets you add 1, and the Mio lets you add an unlimited number; I don't know how useful this would be in real life, but it sounds useful to me. The Maestro also has a very limited POI database (75,000 I think) where most others have millions. What do people here use and why?

2. mfacey macrumors 65816

mfacey

I have a Garmin Nuvi 660, which I've been using for about 6 months now. Granted, its not the cheapest one out there, but at the time it was exactly what I wanted. Garmin has great simple menu systems, very clear maps and excellent screens. Especially wide screen is worth the extra money.
    If I was in the market now I'd take a serious look at the Tom Tom options. They are very very good as far as interface goes and the form factor is getting smaller as well (like Garmin Nuvi). My suggestion is to go to a store and play around with them before you buy. Garmin and Tom Tom are both very mainstream, with lots of reviews and help online.