Which cards besides GTX680 can be user-reflashed for 5.0GT/S and PCIe 2 in OSX & Win?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by grue, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. grue, Apr 1, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2014

    grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #1
    I haven't seen any sort of comprehensive list, so how about we make one?

    I'm trying to do one more round of upgrades to avoid having to build a dedicated gaming PC, so my Mac Pro 4,1 2.26 is going to get a pair of X5570s and… some video card or another. I've been thinking the GTX680 is the best candidate because it doesn't require me to pay someone else to flash it, and will give full performance in both OSes… but are there other candidates I should be considering?
     
  2. EHuntington macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Location:
    Detroit
    #2
    I flashed my Radeon 7950 using the script from Netkas.org. It's been running for a few months now without any hiccups. The prices on the 7950 and 7970 are probably still too high to be worth it, but they are viable options.
     
  3. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #3
    With the 7950 you may also have to do the R17 mod (removing resistor R17) to get 5.0GT/s
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    I believe the GTX680 is literally the only candidate that meets your requirements.

    PC Nvidia cards do not have a large enough ROM chip to fit both Mac EFI and PC BIOS. For whatever reason, the GTX 680 is an exception. This is why you see ROMs floating around for the 680 and none of the other cards.

    Many AMD cards can be flashed, but they require either adding or removing a resistor for 5.0GT/s. I suppose if you don't mind doing that, then you can consider many flashable AMD cards.
     
  5. brosenz macrumors regular

    brosenz

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #5
    Is the EFI Mac ROM available fro the EVGA GTX 780 Ti somewhere as a DIY job?
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    I wouldn't know. Also, I don't think the MP can power that card although I could be wrong.
     
  7. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
  8. grue thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #8
    Ah, fair enough. Just gotta wait for the 680 prices to drop that little bit more, then…
     
  9. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #9
    Used/refurb 680 PC reference cards can be picked up in the old mother country here for 200 quid. eBay.com.au will be the best place down under I reckon, but you'll need one or two PCIe power cables if you get a PC Card depending on whether your old card had one power lead or not. About £4 each over here.
     
  10. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #10
    You might be in luck as they are recently starting to fall. Until recently, GTX 680 prices have been holding the line. Used examples are priced about the same as a brand new GTX 770, which is newer and faster. 4GB models actually went UP in value for almost a year!

    I have no idea what was going on with that. I'm used to video card prices plunging. But yes, they do seem to be falling again.

    Good luck! And don't buy a weird one, as the card might not be compatible with the reference ROM floating around. (To be fair, I don't think anyone has yet found a 680 that wouldn't flash, but it's good to be safe.)
     
  11. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #11
    Or one that's so wide it takes out PCIe slot 2 out of use!
     
  12. grue thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #12
    Ok, found an Inno3D GTX 680 with 2x6pin connectors and what appears to be a reference design, picking it up tomorrow afternoon.

    Then my X5570s arrive on Monday, and I've got a machine that's usable for another 2-3 years :)
     
  13. grue thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #13
    Installed and flashed, all good :D

    New CPUs tomorrow, that should be "fun"
     
  14. vegaliu macrumors newbie

    vegaliu

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #14
    Hi, so that's mean the Inno3D GTX 680 works perfectly without flash?
     
  15. avkdm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #15
    If you want to get technical, there are 2 older cards I have done as well as Gtx680. (reference Design). An 8800gt, you have to find one with a larger rom chip. Also I have flashed a 5770 as well, a bit more technical as you have to build your own rom. Why you would waste your time on these older cards is up to you. GTX680 is the go in my opinion, if you dont want Apple breaking things everytime theres an update to OSX.
     
  16. vegaliu macrumors newbie

    vegaliu

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #16
    I found a Inno3D GTX680 2GB on eBay, just wanna know that does that card can be used on my Mac pro 5.1 without flash the Rom? if it need to be flashed, is it easy to do it?
    Cheers~
     
  17. avkdm, Jun 17, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2015

    avkdm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #17
    If its reference design like this (single blower fan) it will work.
    http://www.inno3d.com/products_detail.php?refid=70
    It has 2x6 pin as well so should go straight in as long as you get the connector/adapter for your Mac.
    Flashing is pretty easy if you are technically minded.
    Best to see this thread and see if you are game.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...e-gtx-680-models.1578255/page-7#post-20932751
    You do not need to flash it, however you will not see boot screen at startup, amongst other things- read the threads to find out.
     
  18. vegaliu macrumors newbie

    vegaliu

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #18
    Thanks dude...
    However if I don't flash it, is it the card still can get a high performance? like the OpenGL, CUDA supported etc...
     
  19. avkdm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #19
    Performance probably where you would not notice the difference.
     
  20. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #20
    Yes, performance should be the same.
     

Share This Page