which carrier for traveling/ocational activation

Discussion in 'iPad' started by rz-jacks, Mar 26, 2012.

1. rz-jacks macrumors member

Hi, I'm trying to make up my mind as to which carrier to choose from and I was hoping some data users could chime in with their recomendations (please don't recommend your carrier just because its YOUR carrier)

Ok so I'm getting my college education here in the US and I will mostly use my ipad in my apt and on campus (campus is covered is really good wifi) BUT

being an international student I have to travel around and mostly vacation here in the US, mostly to Manhattan houston and miami, so the only times I would purchase a month of data is when I either go on vacation, I'm back home (both att and VZN work in this case), roadtrips or when I'm at the airport and dont want to pay for crappy slow airport internet.

Also I might use data to download weather while flying around at like 4000ft (currently getting my private pilot's licence). The main reason I got the 4g ipad is because of the gps...

Based on this can anyone with these types of experiences provide some feedback on which carrier is preferable for this sort of random usage?

Thank you in advance! :)

2. Negativism macrumors newbie

Wirelessly posted

Id bet you get a better Verizon sig flying over the middle of nowhere than a AT&Tsig flying in NY city.

3. Eddie Bombay macrumors 6502

You should go with Verizon but be careful since its illegal to fly and use your phone in the States. Should be fine in Canada or anywhere else though. Verizon or AT&T when traveling at the speed of an aircraft you're going to have a really horrible connection if you actually get one.

4. Snoosedaddy macrumors regular

I would choose the one with the best spell checker. :eek:

5. IllIllIll, Mar 26, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2012

IllIllIll macrumors 65816

Wow...so much misinformation in so short a post.