Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mystiqueskillz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 9, 2009
I'm a college student and I'm in the process of configuring a Macbook Pro, but I'm unsure of the specifications I want. I've been a PC user all my life and I'm making the switch to a Mac. I want to stick with a 13" since I'm on a budget. I feel like getting the base model, but I feel that 2GB of ram will not be enough and the 160GB hard drive will be too small.

13-inch : 2.26GHz
Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB memory
160GB hard drive

Price: $1,099.00 Student Price

or

Intel Core 2 Duo
4GB memory
250GB hard drive

Price: $1,234.00 Student Price

Or should I just spend 165 dollars ($1,399.00) and get:

13-inch : 2.53GHz
Intel Core 2 Duo
4GB memory
250GB hard drive

Price: $1,399.00 Student Price

Is paying 165 extra for the processor worth it? I will be doing basic photo shop, word, excel, itunes, and browse the net. I read that a lot of people say that I should just buy extra ram and a bigger hard drive separately, but upon my research I found that it's the same price. What do you guys think? For sure I will get a larger hard drive as I listen to music and have a lot of pictures. As for the ram, do you think paying 90 extra for it is worth it and necessary?

ziggyonice

macrumors 68020
Mar 12, 2006
Rural America
Glad to hear you're switching to a Mac. It's A LOT nicer. :)

Well if you want to save money, I think the low-end model is just fine. Upgrades are easy and can be done at anytime. The hard drive isn't too small, although if you have a lot of stuff that could be a reason to consider the higher end model. Although to tell you the truth, the rumor is that Apple's going to be updating the MacBook Pro line pretty soon — that might be a reason to consider holding off for just a little bit longer.