Which Drivers for GTX970

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by prvt.donut, Jul 27, 2016.

  1. prvt.donut macrumors 6502a

    prvt.donut

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #1
    Probably asked a million times, I know there are Web Drivers and Cuda drivers and native drivers, but just not sure which ones I need to install for the (used) new GTX 970 I just bought.

    I am on OS X v10.11.6.

    Thanks in advance.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 27, 2016 ---
    Basically, should I just follow what they say here:

    http://create.pro/blog/how-to-insta...x-titan-x-980-ti-980-970-or-960-in-a-mac-pro/

    They talk about using the Quadro K5000 drivers. That doesn't sound correct!
     
  2. prvt.donut thread starter macrumors 6502a

    prvt.donut

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #3
    Thanks Flowrider,

    I am finally running at 4k.

    I thought the GTX970 supports hdmi 2.0, I only can get it to pump out 30hz at the moment. Thats a little strange.
     
  3. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #4
    You GPU does, but OS X doesn't. The pixel clock patch might help, but using DP is usually more reliable.
     
  4. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Serbia
    #5
    SwitchResX software can create custom resolutions and refresh rates. Be careful with it, create resolutions which are compstibile with your display.
     
  5. Zaithe macrumors member

    Zaithe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    #6
    If you want it running at PCIe 2.0 speeds in bootcamp you will need to get it EFI flashed if you haven't already.
     
  6. prvt.donut, Jul 29, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2016

    prvt.donut thread starter macrumors 6502a

    prvt.donut

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #7
    Ok, so the 30hz vs 60hz issue is because I am using HDMI 2.0 ports and cable.

    If I change to the Display port, and use a DP-HDMI cable, will that allow me to run at 60hz, assuming the TV is SST?

    I am not too keen on the pixel clock patch as that requires I keep the system with SIP disabled, but i also want HDMI audio working too, and so it seems that SIP will have to go! I dropped the resolution down to 1080p so I can run at 60Hz again for now...

    I also have a Seiki SE42UM TV that I am connecting to. I am trying to decide if I should keep this as my monitor or if I should get an ultra wide display and nice speakers.
     
  7. bax2003, Jul 30, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2016

    bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Serbia
    #8
    Unfortunately no. Problem is that there is no Mac that supports 2160p@60Hz through HDMI, because of that you need to do some patching. For every macOS version question is will that patch work.

    So, use pixel clock patch if its working with macOS versnion that you need.
    There is the other way - if your Mac has DisplayPort 1.2, buy DP to HDMI 2.0 adapter (Club3D) and then SwitchResX app to create custom resolution.
     
  8. prvt.donut thread starter macrumors 6502a

    prvt.donut

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #9

    Is that the final word then? I can't have 4k 60 hz with my gtx970 DP > HDMI 2.0?
     

Share This Page