All iPads Which Etymotic earphone do you recommend?

Discussion in 'iPad Accessories' started by hajime, Dec 24, 2013.

1. hajime, Dec 24, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2013

hajime macrumors 68030

Hello, I have been using the Shure SE115 for a few years. It is quite good in sound isolation but sometimes I can still hear people when they are talking loudly. I heard that Etymotic earphone has excellent sound isolation. Which one do you recommend HF3, HF5 or ER-4PT? I have tried the Bose QC20i in several stores. It is not good at blocking human voice.

2. New2MacOS macrumors member

I have the Bose Q20i (and also the Q15), and both are great in canceling the roar of the plane engine (I travel a lot) but not conversations. I prefer to use my Bowers & Wilkins C5 for noise isolation and superb clarity of the sound--try listening to Doug MacLeod's "There's a Time" album. See the ranking and review of the B&W C5 in Forbes Magazine. I hope this helps.

3. zhenya macrumors 603

zhenya

They all use the same basic plug design, so isolation is effectively the same. The 4PT is considerably more expensive because the armatures are closely matched and it's overall a higher-end IEM. I am not exactly clear on what the difference between the HF3 and HF5 is other than obviously the microphone on the HF3. I would expect they are otherwise fairly similar.

Ety's have great isolation if you can take the insertion they require to get a good seal. I've been using them for 10 years, and on even loud airplanes I can barely hear anything at all above the sound of the music, which remains at the same volume as if I were in a quiet room. They do get uncomfortable after some time though.

Custom molds are a good option if you want good isolation and all-day comfort.

4. Dulcimer macrumors 6502a

Dulcimer

The HF3 and HF5 are the exact same other than the former's addition of a built-in mic and player control buttons.