Which external hard drive for Time Machine?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by cheeseadiddle, Oct 18, 2007.

1. cheeseadiddle macrumors regular

I'm new to macs, having just bought a 24" iMac on the 2nd. So I qualify for the Leopard upgrade. The Time Machine feature really sounds cool, and I'd like to use it. 'Cept I haven't a clue about which external hard drives are the best, or in particular... which one is the best.

I'm assuming firewire is the way to go for speed, but I have no idea how large a drive I'd need. My internal drive is 500GB. Anyone have any suggestions for a durable, quiet external drive? What can I expect to pay?

We also have a second 20" 2.4 Ghz iMac in the house that has the 320GB drive in it. It will be getting the Leopard upgrade as well, so I could use a suggestion for an external drive for Time Machine for that iMac too.

Thanks

2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

xUKHCx

You have an airport extreme so you could have a drive(s) connected to that to act as a Time Machine for both computers. Just a thought.

3. lancestraz macrumors 6502a

lancestraz

You could, but it would be slow.

LaCie makes excellent hard drives.
    If you want cheaper ones, check out Western Digital's My Book hard drives.

4. macpro2000 macrumors 6502a

5. Word Warrior macrumors member

Just about to upgrade

I'm soon to be getting an imac with Leopard 10.5 but was wondering what to do regarding time machine. I already have a 500GB Lacie firewire 'bigger disc' which is currently partitioned with a backup space of 80GB to cover the internal drive in my current iMac and the rest is for other stuff. Is there a way I can adapt this without having to dump stuff onto DVD's etc then reformatting the drive or should I just buy another drive the same size (or bigger) than the internal drive on the new imac and start over?:confused:

6. richard.mac macrumors 603

richard.mac

use ipartition to make your first partition bigger than 80gb without reformating it.