Which GPU windows 7

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by I'mAMac, May 20, 2010.

  1. I'mAMac macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #1
    I know this has probably been posted already and I'm sorry for asking but I couldn't find it. How can you tell which gpu is in use for Windows 7?
     
  2. tekchic macrumors 65816

    tekchic

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    I believe if you are in Bootcamp the GPU will always be the discrete (Nvidia). One of the reasons Win7 side runs hotter. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong :)
     
  3. I'mAMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #3
    Ok cool thank you. That makes sense because i have speedfan running and i did notice that the temps were a little on the high side.
     
  4. mingoglia macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    #4
    From everything I've read that is the case that Win 7 will only use the discrete. I personally have not run Bootcamp. I can say VMWare triggers the discrete but it can be switched back with the gfxcardstatus utility if you're just using non-graphics intensive apps. I just through that out about vmware for others to read but it obviously is somewhat off topic to your question. :)
     
  5. I'mAMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #5
    Haha thats ok its good to know anyway.
     

Share This Page