Which iMac for video editing between these 2?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by san001, Mar 19, 2014.

1. san001, Mar 19, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014

san001 macrumors member

Hi
    I am not very technically minded however need help deciding on which imac for my video editing , which is just family HD videos all in AVCHD filles, i only cut/past, add music, titles,menu page,transitions.

I have looked at loads of posts about this and have come up with the following.

which one would be better for me? I would appreciate any advice.

Apple imac 12,1, 10.8.5 Mountain lion
    Mid 2011 model
    27" IPS led backlit display 2560x1440
    2.7ghz intel core i5 quad processor
    16gb ddr3 1333mhz ram
    1tb 7200rpm hard drive
    AMD radeon HD 6770m 512mb graphics card
    £945 + VAT

VS

imac 21.5" NEW OS X Maverick
    2.9 ghz intel core i5 quad processor
    8gb ddr3 1600mhz ram
    1tb 5400 rpm hard drive
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M with 1Gb
    £1082 + VAT

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I'd say the newer model will be faster even though you have a slower hard drive and less ram. The CPU/GPU improvements between 2011 and now are such that it will compensate for the slower components you chose.

Another difference however is the older iMac is a 27" vs. the 21" Which form factor do you want to use?

Personally, I'd hate to spend a lot of money on a 2011 computer given its age, but that's just me.

3. san001 thread starter macrumors member

I would agree with getting the newer over the older one, but didnt know if the spec was far better with the older model.

I am not bothered about the bigger screen either.

Thank you for your input, it would be interesting to see if others agree.

4. RCAFBrat macrumors regular

There is not much difference between the 2.7 and 2.9 GHz CPU and you probably don't need the dedicated GPU either.