which Imac is best suited for photography

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ROGERWILCO357, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. ROGERWILCO357 macrumors 6502

    ROGERWILCO357

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    Ok just bought some nice photog stuff,5dmkII 85L and the 70-200LMKII.lens now I will be doing alot of rendering and using lightroom and aperture . What should my new Imac have to make this unit function as my photography computer other than the obvious 2Terabyte hard drive. Ram ? video card? etc..
     
  2. Objector macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    #2
    I would definitely go for a 27" screen, since that provides you with u much larger resolution.

    Secondly I'd opt for an SSD, since that makes Photoshop open almost instantly.
     
  3. Psilocybin macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #3
    Id go with 27" core i5 1gb VRAM


    Sent from my iPhone 4 using Tapatalk
     
  4. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #4
    So which one, LR or Aperture?

    Theres no need to add the internal 2TB drive, buy a nice FW800 external.

    This is what i would get, plus the external drive + 8 more gigs of ram

    http://www.macconnection.com/IPA/Shop/Product/Detail.htm?sku=12811708&cac=Result

    Id start with this case: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/MEP944FW8EU2/

    and add my own drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822145473
     
  5. Psilocybin macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #5
    Without the SSD my photoshop almost opens instantly on an i5


    Sent from my iPhone 4 using Tapatalk
     
  6. mennie macrumors newbie

    mennie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    #6
    Depend on your eyes. Some people like to use 27" by sit back away from screen. Some people like 21.5" but like to sit closer.

    With the adobe bridge / Lightroom, the multiple windows is useless and no need at all. (somebody may talk about 27" can get advantage with multiple windows).

    If you would like to use multiple windows, Try "Space" feature in OSX.

    I think 27" is most suitable for CAD/CAM work. The Bigger is the best.
     
  7. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #7
    I would highly suggest against using both LR and Aperture, using one or the other would be a better option as they aren't just editing tools, but digital asset management programs.
     
  8. mennie macrumors newbie

    mennie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    #8
    LR = Camera Raw + Bridge in PS

    Editing and Catalog in the same app. I think it's enough.
     
  9. CHSeifert, Jun 17, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2011

    CHSeifert macrumors 6502

    CHSeifert

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark - Scandinavia
    #9
    Very well suited would be my iMac coming next week :)

    iMac 27" with an extra ACD led 27
    i2600 3.4 ghz CPU
    256 GB SSD + 2TB HDD
    2 GB GPU
    16 GB RAM
    Magic Trackpad + Magic Mouse

    Add to that a 2 TB TimeCapsule and a 2 TB WD Ext. HDD and you got an awesome machine for photo editing!
     
  10. sth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    The old world
    #10
    I agree, that's an awesome setup (maybe even a bit overkill), but I really hope you didn't order the RAM directly from Apple. ;)
     
  11. CHSeifert, Jun 17, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2011

    CHSeifert macrumors 6502

    CHSeifert

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark - Scandinavia
    #11
    No I didn't - only with 8 gb ;)
    Have an extra 8 gb Corsair 204 DIMM 1333 MHz ready on my desk :)
     
  12. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #12

    To be honest a base iMac would be fine, I use a MacMini for my photography work. Biggest bottleneck for me is the 5400rpm drive the mini uses. I store my images on an external firewire (mirrored) drive.

    The larger 27" screen might be better, but both are covered in glass and are reflective. Hence why I've stayed with mini.
     
  13. lasuther macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Haven, Michigan
    #13
    Taking a look at that camera set up which is the same my friend uses, I would say a fully loaded 27".

    1. 27" monitor for the resolution so you can work with large files.
    2. Fast i7 processor to work with RAW quickly.
    3. 16GB ram, aftermarket.
    4. SSD will keep things fast.

    Just buy a 27" with all the upgrades. Can't think of one that wouldn't be nice.
     
  14. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #14
    The fastest one with the biggest screen you can afford. They are all powerful so screen first power later.

    Choose a budget. Allocate $100 for self ram upgrade. Take what's left and buy the best you can afford.
     

Share This Page