Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ptlinda

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 29, 2011
2GB GDDR5 SDRAM???

Ok, I've been out of the market for a lot of years but am ready to trade in my antique PC for a new 27" screen imac. I'm a photographer (exhibiting) and need speed + storage. I look at the list of specifications and am totally lost. I don't need any of the specialized gaming bells and whistles. Can someone help guide me through the alphabet maze to know which of these features would be important?

I'm in the NW and was planning to get it through Mac Store (any previous experience of anyone with that store would be appreciated too.
Thanks.///

darknite38

macrumors regular
Nov 18, 2010
The cheapest iMac at 1699 will be the perfect one for you. If you don't mind spending an extra 300 dollars for a computer that will last you about ~5 years, then go ahead and treat yourself to the 1999 iMac.

Both computers will fit your needs well, you mention you don't play games. So if I were you and I was wanting to save some money, buy the baseline iMac for 1699.

Jswoosh

macrumors member
Feb 23, 2011
I have the basic model of the iMac and its been great for me no complaints so far.

csjcsj

macrumors regular
Feb 15, 2011
Sarasota FL
Disagree with the others. If you are manipulating hi-res, large files, the more computer you have, the better. It's not so much storage size as it is processor speed and memory. Even basic Photoshop filters will be faster (though either Mac will seem lightning fast compared to what you have now).

duncanapple

macrumors 6502
Jun 12, 2008