Which iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by madmatt, Nov 16, 2013.

1. madmatt macrumors newbie

I'm a photographer looking at a new Imac. In my budget I am looking at the 27 inch Imacs. Would I be better off with a:confused: $1799 base model with 512 g ssd, or the $1999 model with the I7 and 1 TB fusion drive. This would be for stills, not video or gaming. Lightroom and other photo editing programs. And thinking also of a couple years down the road for future proofing. I am also considering a I7 Mac Mini and an NEC monitor. I'm a little concerned about the 16 gig ram limit and the fact that there may be an update. I have until the end of January to decide. Thanks for any ideas/info!

Matt

2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

You're going to need the extra threads and processing power of the i7 to process RAW files. I'm freelance 'grapher myself, and I've come to appreciate the 8 threads of the i7 (compared to only 4 in the i5), and also a pure SSD setup.

Fusion Drive....I don't advocate it.
    1. Read/writes are slower than pure SSD. 510/350 MB/s compared to 650/750MB/s, read/write of Fusion and SSD respectively.
    2. If the rotational part of the drive fails, the entire Fusion Drive goes down with it, even if the SSD sector is still working. You lose everything.

You should go for the high end iMac with i7, but without the graphics upgrade. 2GB of GTX775M is enough for your needs.

3. madmatt thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the reply!

Maybe I should spend the extra $500 for the 512 gb ssd drive. Oh well, it's only money...........:eek:

Matt

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Do you need to the 512GB storage. It is a premium for such an upgrade. For my needs I can live within the 256gb.

5. iamgalactic macrumors regular

you're money would be better spent on good external storage. 512gb is not a lot of space.

tbh, for your use you'll find the fusion drive speeds more than adequate.