Which internal HDs would you recommend for Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by andboom, Jan 23, 2008.

1. andboom macrumors member

andboom

I am a Video Editor based in the UK looking for 3 identical media drives for Bays 2, 3 and 4 of my new 2008 mac pro 8 Core 3Ghz 6GB RAM. I already have a 500GB System drive in Bay 1.

I am using the machine for Non-RAID Final Cut Studio 2 editing, Music Production with Ableton Live and archiving a large amount of video and a huge amount of images, so my priorities are transfer speed, startup speed and reliability. Also, the machine is on most of the day so low noise is also important. In other words, the three drives need to be good performers that I can depend on as much as the ones I had in my Dual G5 Powermac, which are still going strong after 4 years.

Currently my preferred reseller (Yoyotech) is giving me the choice between two models of 750GB SATA2 3GB/s 7200RPM 3.5" drives, both with 32MB Cache :

HITACHI HDS721075KLA330

SAMSUNG HD753LJ

My reseller's prices are the same for both. I know it's not an exact science as every drive can be different, but can anyone recommend one over the other from experience?

I have seen on-line reviews for both drives users are either completely satisfied or found them complete disasters so it's very difficult to get a good idea (also not always confident that they are talking about these exact models). I'm aware there are many other comparable brands too but these drives are both available for £100 from my reseller, which is quite a bit less for this capacity than manufacturers such as Seagate. Some reviewers are saying that although Seagate Barracudas are generally very reliable they can be quite noisy, and in any case the 750GB Seagate would cost me quite a bit more and as far as I know, only have 16MB Cache as opposed to these two which have 32MB.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! :)

2. rds macrumors regular

3. Toups macrumors regular