Which iPhone is mine on Pwnage Tool 3.1.4?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Sparky9292, Oct 20, 2009.

  1. Sparky9292 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #1
    Ok this is a dumb question, but I have an iPhone 3G (non-S). Which one of the choices below should I pick?

    [​IMG]

    If I pick the first one, it says I have the wrong firmware bundle. If I pick the 3rd one, it works, but then iTunes goes into an endless loop when "preparing phone for new firmeware":(
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ehurdler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    #2
    Choose the option on the right. It is 3G/3G S. Yes it works!
     
  3. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Have you updated iTunes to the latest version?

    Are you putting the device into DFU or Restore Mode?

    What is the name of the iPhone firmware file?

    EDIT: Oh, and as above, it's the one on the right
     
  4. Sparky9292 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #4
    Ok, the fix is to shut down iTunes, then run Pwnage Tool, then click option while pressing restore.

    I left iTunes up the entire time.

    Would have been nice if this was in the instructions on the app itself....
     
  5. ehurdler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    #5
    I'd follow these instructions http://iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4254 if you are still having issue and or unsure of the full procedure.
     
  6. Sparky9292 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #6
    Thanks. The problem was that I didn't restart iTunes before I tried to upload the haxored firmware. Also I didn't uncheck ACTIVATE THE IPHONE since I'm already with AT&T.
     
  7. Apple Genius macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    #7
    I was wondering the same thing. It should say 3G or 3G(S)

    you know, for such smart people, the Dev team isn't very good at writing directions. :rolleyes:
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    That's why there are tutorials posted all over the Internet,

    One would have to be foolish or worse not to get and follow a tutorial until one has enough experience that a tutorial is no longer needed.

    All the DevTeam tools work, it's just operator error.
     

Share This Page