which is best to buy macbook/macbook pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by blackteak, Jul 23, 2009.

1. blackteak macrumors newbie

Looking into buying a new laptop. I'm new to macs, hating PCs right now. id be using this for everyday use (internet, wordprocessing, light photoediting) im a nursing student.

My choices are between a refurb aluminum macbook & a macbook pro 13. Ive read lots about the crappy screen on the alum macbook. Is it really that bad? Should i go for the macbook pro? Or wait until its avail as a refurb? Any help would be appreciated. Sorry for such a general noob question.

2. old-wiz macrumors G3

Some people hate the screens, whether on the macbook or macbook pro. I'd suggest you go to an apple store and compare them. Personally I don't think they are really that different.

The screen issues are mostly noticed in things such as fine detail photo editing.
    I have a new 13" macbook pro and the screen seems fine to me.

There's lots of talk about 'bleeding' on the screen, but I have to admit the only way I can notice it is on a screen that's set all black, which you don't normally do anyway.

I'd get a macbook pro - I find it more useful, and I love the touchpad. This is the first touchpad I've really used. On my old iBook I never used the touchpad - just took a mouse with me.

For your uses, either computer will be suitable.

3. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

4. clyde2801 macrumors 601

clyde2801

The original uni mb screens in late 08 left a lot to be desired, especially the 9c89 model: poor contrast, lousy display differentiation of darker hues and an extremely narrow viewing angle. The 9c8c weren't quite as bad, and I fine mine to be acceptable.