Which is better for video, photography & graphics?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Mantronix, Apr 25, 2007.

1. Mantronix macrumors regular

iMac 24" or the Macbook Pro?

I'm in the process of starting a new business in within the next 6 months. It revolves around wedding digital photography and videography. I'm relatively new to Macs and I've been a longtime PC user for the past 15 years. Like new members I'm fed up with Windows. I've been doing tons of research and reading regarding Macs/OX S and I will definitely make the switch. My question is which will be best Mac for what I need?

I went to CompUSA (we don't have an apple store where I live at) and compared systems. I really liked the real estate of the IMac 24" screen and how bright the display was. A good display is very important for the type of work I will be doing. It's bright and has alot of room where I can run multiple programs as I work. The MBP is very nice and the portability of a laptop comes in very handy. I can do my work almost anywhere. In the bed, toilet, couch or my backyard. I can do my work even on my other job. Plus I can use a laptop, I already own 2 desktops. I've read some posts on the forum comparing IMacs to MBPs and how that MBP can be upgraded but Imacs can't? Can someone please explain that to me. Also I don't want to spend no more than $2500-2600.00 on my initial purchase. I'm leaning towards the IMac 24" but I want to make sure I'm buying the right machine.

2. FF_productions macrumors 68030

FF_productions

I would totally recomend a MacBook Pro. For 2500 you can get a 15 inch one with a 2.33 ghz Core 2 Duo and 2 gigs of ram, a 120 gig hard drive, superdrive, etc.

The 17 inch model at 2799 gives you the same speed, but more screen real estate, more hard drive space and a faster dvd burner.

It is just as fast as the 24 inch iMac.

You can add an extra display if you really want that screen real estate.

It is portable, making it extra conveneint.