Which is faster ??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Tobias Funke, Jul 20, 2012.

  1. Tobias Funke macrumors 6502a

    Tobias Funke

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #1
    1600 DDR3 with CL9

    OR

    1866 DDR3 with CL10

    Thank you. :D
     
  2. pgiguere1 macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #2
    The 1866 DDR3 with CL10, as long as your motherboard supports it. Considering we're in the MacBook Pro forum yours probably doesn't so go with the 1600.
     
  3. Tobias Funke thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Tobias Funke

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #3
    They also don't support 16gb of RAM and we all know how that ends. ;) :D
     
  4. pgiguere1 macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #4
  5. Tobias Funke thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Tobias Funke

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
  6. pgiguere1 macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #6
    If your motherboard doesn't support it, 1600 DDR3 with CL9, since the 1866 will downclock to 1600 and CL9 is a lower latency than CL10.
     
  7. fizzwinkus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    #7
    i think the all natural goodtime family band solution is getting to you...

    graft vs host, perhaps?
     
  8. M5RahuL macrumors 68020

    M5RahuL

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #8
    1866 DDR3..trivial difference and now sure if it would be healthy for the logic board.

    ----------

    All 2011 iterations and onwards of the MBP support 16GB RAM. It's been proven and being used by many on the forum.
     
  9. Tobias Funke thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Tobias Funke

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #9
    Do you know this will happen for sure ??

    Have you seen it happen or is there a thread on here with it happening ?

    Thanks.
     
  10. thomaskc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #10
    Just because apple doesn't sell it doesn't mean it's not supported.
     
  11. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #11
    1866 if your motherboard uses XMP and runs i at those speeds. Though the difference is very small, so buy whatever is cheaper.

    And yes, 1866 ram will run at 1600.

    ----------

    And it could also result in crashes if there is incompatibility between the MB and ram. You roll with the risks of using faster then supported ram
     
  12. Tobias Funke thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Tobias Funke

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #12
    I know it will.

    But does it run at 1866 or 1600 when in a Macbook Pro ?? :D

    Has anybody tried it?
     
  13. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #13
    You might want to mention which machine you have, model and year. And also what ram you are referring to when u say 1866

    ----------

    This has been covered many times on MR

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1156035

    Search the forums. Having a quick look it will work depending on what model u have though people have complained about crashes.

    You risk, want the speed, go for it, may crash.... But u want the fastest right?
     

Share This Page