Which laptop for an engineer/gamer

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by macgeek77, Jun 5, 2007.

1. macgeek77 macrumors regular

Hello...

I am planning to purchase a new apple laptop and needed some help choosing which one. I know that I am going into engineering (computer/electricial), but I also am going to play a lot of games on my Window's partition. I would be playing games found on PS2/PS3/and XBox. I wanted to choose between these models:

1) The Black Macbook
    2) The base line 15" MBP
    3) the best 15" MBP

Thanks for any suggestions.:apple: :apple: :apple:

2. zioxide macrumors 603

zioxide

#3. If you're going to be doing serious gaming, you'll need the 256MB 8600M.

3. alexprice macrumors 6502a

The black Macbooks video performance isn't powerfull enough. Go for the base 15" MacBook Pro.

4. Nuc macrumors 6502a

Nuc

I agree with #3 as well. I don't play games but I am an engineer and I run some pretty intense apps. Plus you'll probably need to run windows so get the best computer.

Nuc

5. kuebby macrumors 68000

kuebby

I agree withzioxide, having twice the VRAM will be good for running Windows games, especially with effects, AA, etc turned on.

6. jellz macrumors regular

Man...its common for a lot of engineers to start off as hard core gamers...but once the year goes on a lot of them just stop playing haha. Giving up games was one of the best decisions I made in college.

7. holamiamigos macrumors 6502a

8. NATO macrumors 68000

NATO

I'm studying Electrical/Electronic Engineering, and I'm also partial to a bit of gaming, so I know where you're coming from. Personally any of the newly-updated MacBook Pros would be ideal, although going for a 15" model with the 256MB VRAM would enhance gaming performance a little, so I'd go with that.