Which lens/mode to use for Sport Action

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by I AM THE MAN, Sep 26, 2011.

1. I AM THE MAN macrumors 6502

I am in charge of taking photographs for some school sport events but I need a little bit of help. Today was the first day, which went pretty decent (got some decent shots). I was wondering which lens would you recommend on me using for the sport event:

A) Canon 50mm EF f1/8 Lens?

B) 18-55mm Lens kit

I used the 50mm Lens and got some pretty nice photos but should I stick with it or use the 18-55mm?

Additionally, what mode should I capture in? I used both the P and Sport Modes and got great pictures with both. Is there any recommendations on which modes to use? Im still a beginner so thats why I do not tend to use the Manual Mode for shooting.

Thank you for your help in advance!

2. walterwhite macrumors 6502

walterwhite

sporting events call for a longer lens like a 70-300... any recognizable brand will do well... canon, sigma, etc...

Use a sporting setting or just set the camera to allow you to pick the shutter speed... and go with something like 1/250th up to 1/1000 or higher. Start there and have fun!

3. I AM THE MAN thread starter macrumors 6502

Alright thank you! With the Equipment I have at this moment, what would you prefer? I know this is a very tight spot :(

4. fcortese macrumors demi-god

fcortese

I'm assuming you have a camera with a crop factor of 1.3-1.6, probably 1.6 (canon rebel T1i, etc) so your zoom is going to be the camera I think would best serve you in the long run. Tv (S for nikons), ie, shutter priority at =/> 1/250 seems like the best best to freeze action. Does the lens kit have image stabilization? If so that's a plus. If not, you may want to make sure you are leaning against a structure or have a tripod or monopod to keep the blurring down. Then again the faster the shutter speed the less of this you have to worry about.

5. I AM THE MAN thread starter macrumors 6502