Which Mac Book Pro Retina 13 vs 15

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jkundi, Mar 31, 2014.

1. jkundi macrumors member

Hi everyone, I've been saving up for a Mac Book Pro for a few months and feel I'm ready to make the move to a Mac. Ultimately it comes to which size I require, the 13" or 15". I went to my local Apple store today and had a good feel on both machines. As portable the 13" looks I'm not sure it would suffice in carrying out daily tasks.

What will I be using the Mac Book Pro for?
    Primarily I'll be using it for general web surfing, Dreamweaver/Photoshop for Web Development/Design (quite allot), Lightroom for editing pictures (quite allot), Final Cut Pro for video editing (not so much). I'd like it to last 2/3 years before upgrading.

Now I'm capable of purchasing maxed out versions of both but really would like to refrain from spending for a spec I wont fully use. Do I really need all that computing power, will the 16GB RAM be over kill? What processor would be ideal?

If I am to go for the 13" which seems portable and lighter, will it handle applications stated above without issues. I know I'd may have to buy an external monitor to work on when editing pictures or designing.

The 15" does seem quite large but I'm thinking it would be ok to edit and design without having the need of an external monitor?

I'm not looking for an iMac due to not wanting to be at a desk (having being stuck behind a desk all day at work) would much prefer to sit on a sofa lol.

What are your views? What specs would you recommend?

p.s. Yes I'm new to the forum but have been visiting for years, hopefully I can contribute in future, now that I willing to make the move.

- Jas

2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

Most people say that the sweet spot for the 13" is 2.4GHz, 256GB SSD and 8GB of RAM.