Which Mac is right for me...?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by acearchie, Feb 24, 2008.

1. acearchie macrumors 68040

acearchie

Well I will start from the top, I am the owner of a 2 and a half year old powerbook g4 12", the machine itself is holding up fantastically but sadly I feel its falling behind a little in performance for some of the things I do.

Im a 16 year old student at a boarding school in England. Next year at school I have to make a film for a talent contest, I would like to say I am very advanced with iMovie ('06 of course not the rubbish new one!), fairly proficient in FCE 4 (which fortunately my dad has a copy of) and have had a few sessions at the Apple store with Final Cut Studio (which I think is a fantastic suite!)

For the film I intend on using FCE or Final Cut Studio (if I can persuade my Dad to buy it for his work!) my powerbook is extremely laborious with iMovie and FCE at the moment and in another 6 months time (when I start the film) I can't see it holding up!

I enjoy editing and have secured a work placement at an editing suite in london in the summer. But I also like the portability of a laptop.

I currently have my powerbook connected to a 24" Full HD Dell display which I plan on keeping, but I also enjoy watching tv shows on my computer (ripped from DVD's) in bed and the laptop format is good for this but the laptop power may limit my editing ability.

So at the moment I was considering either a 15" MBP (high end) or a low end Mac Pro which would be super speedy with editing etc. but is also very large!

Another problem I have is I feel that computing is about to hit a technological burst with USB 3.0, new Ram, and the end of the FSB would it be more efficient to hold of on a new purchase until say this time next year when this new technology (although in its rev. a. form) will be available and try and make this film on my Dad's iMac at home...

If youve even read this far I salute you! :D