Which Mac Laptop to get

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by pTacRP, Feb 11, 2014.

1. pTacRP macrumors member

We have decided to switch from a Dell to a Mac since we were so impressed with our iPhone transition. I am completely new to the world of Mac computers and really have no idea which one to get. We will be using it mainly for school applications, some home video editing, and internet access. We don't play online games or anything like that. Where do I start?

2. eneisch macrumors 6502a

It depends what is important to you. As a starting point do you value screen size or portability? For example if you need a 15-inch screen there is only one choice (15-inch retina MacBook Pro). If you value extreme portability then the 11-inch MacBook Air would be right for you. If you think a 13-inch laptop would be the right size then you have to choose between a MacBook Air and retina MacBook Pro.

Also a big factor is $. How much is your budget?

Check out this recent thread where the 13" Air and Pro are compared for value:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1702262

Hope this helps!

3. pTacRP thread starter macrumors member

eneisch-thanks for the reply. I've had a 17" for awhile but realize going to a Mac I'll have to get used to a smaller screen. I'll probably go to the middle with a 13". Budget wise I'd like to keep it under $1200 but also know a Mac should last much longer then the Dell's I've had. Guess I'm just wondering feature wise what's best for us as I'm new to Mac and what they offer. I'll check the link you provided, thanks!

----------

Also does anyone know when the new Mac's are coming out?

4. eneisch macrumors 6502a