Which Mac Pro for Logic Studio?..

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by studioacoustics, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. studioacoustics macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #1
    Hi...

    I've been using a Power Mac G5 for Logic, but need to upgrade to use my UAD-2 card and Logic Studio 9... the question is what is the best machine within reason to go for? A slower dual processor 8 core system of faster single core quad or six core?

    Any advice would be much appreciated.

    Many thanks...

    Daz.
     
  2. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    The more the merrier! Logic is one of the very view applications that benefits form cores over clock speed, so if the 8-core is within your budget, get it.
     
  3. studioacoustics thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #3
    Hi....

    Thanks for that. A call to the apple store and looking at the budget kinda swung me that way... Thanks for the input though..

    All the best,

    Daz.
     
  4. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
    All of the 2010 Mac Pro offerings are great on 9.1.3. More tracks than I will ever need. Choose one in your budget and weigh what else you might be using the Mac for.
    I choose the 6-core because I use too much software that is single threaded and I needed to have it double as a game rig on Win 7.
     
  5. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #5
    As many cores as you can afford.

    Just take the number of cores multiplied by the clock speed. The bigger of the number the better.

    Logic is one of the few Apple apps that really seriously shines on multiple cores.
     
  6. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #7
    Would be nice to have version 9.1.3 tested. Without "hotfix". Official support and control of westmere cores.
     
  7. ekwipt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #8
    Why would you want itwithoutthe hotfix? To see the difference it made? The hot fix was released I think about a week after 9.1.3 was released. There was a manual way to get the same result by using terminal and force the program to see the hyper threaded cores.

    I think most people on gearslutz had already manually fixed their versions of logic before enough tests were done to make a conclusion.
     
  8. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #9
    If I remember correctly the hotfix was released between the 9.1.2 and 9.1.3 patches. It allowed better core use on the Hex models. Hotfix is unnecessary in 9.1.3 as they wrote in a pref pane to control cores. So final 9.1.3 would be nice as I remember a slight difference in power. I had all stages and versions installed myself as it directly affected me. Also, I was involved in that gearslutz discussion.
     

Share This Page