Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ailyn

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 9, 2014
Hi guys. I'm a frontend developer and i've been thinking about getting a Mac for a while. I use VS all the time and i'm connected to SQL server. I thought about Mac mini with 16 GB RAM and M1 processor. Mac mini is cheaper in terms of price. But Mac Studio with M1 Max offers better than the features of Mac mini. Mac Studio is a bit more expensive but the features are very good. I'm also considering a MacBook Pro. A 16-inch Macbook with M1 Pro or a MacBook with M2 could do the work. I work mostly from home, my work is remote and i don't go to the office. Would it make more sense to get a desktop Mac? My mind is very confused. What do you think?

coffeemilktea

macrumors 65816
Nov 25, 2022
Front-end developer? I'd say M2 MacBook Air; it'll have enough power for your needs, and you can hook it up to a monitor if you're at home, or use it on the go if you want to work at a coffee shop for a change of pace.

A Mac Studio or MacBook Pro would obviously be more powerful, but also more expensive; whether you need that much power (and don't mind paying extra for it) is something only you can answer. But personally I think the M2 MacBook Air will be enough for what you've mentioned.

Reactions: Ailyn

StoneJack

macrumors 68030
Dec 19, 2009
M2 Air.
Just bought yesterday one for wife and given my 13 inch m2 Air to daughter few months ago. These are marvelous machines. Currently on base 14 inch M3 Macbook Pro. These M chips are extremely powerful and efficient.

theluggage

macrumors 604
Jul 29, 2011
I use VS all the time and i'm connected to SQL server.