Which Mac to buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by aj8973, Jan 31, 2008.

1. aj8973 macrumors newbie

Hi Guys,

I've never owned a Mac before but have decided to get one as I'm a Multimedia student who is doing video encoding, sound editing & graphic design.

The big question for me is do I get an iMac, or a MBP?
    I had pretty much decided on a MBP but the iMac's are a hell of a lot cheaper for more or less the same power, not to mention the larger screen size. There are a few things on my mind though that maybe you can help me clear up. iMacs only come with a glossy screen option, I've heard this sucks for design & photography which I'll be doing a lot of. Also, I'm concerned about the MBP's not being about to display "Millions of colours" as advertised. There is a whole site devoted to this issue. As you probably know, Macs are a hell of a lot cheaper in the U.S. (Lucky buggers), but my sister is going there for some shopping in two weeks meaning I have a chance to save about $250 dollars if she picks it up. Or should I wait until this new Penryn chip update? I really need the machine sooner then later though.

Thanks a lot guys. Looking forward to working on an Apple machine.

2. mortalvic macrumors newbie

If you don't need the portability I would get the iMac. Neither screens will be fabulously accurate for design work. You can always get an external monitor.

I hate the glossy screen of the iMac, but the speed gains and extra upgrade possibilities are better. I used a MacBook Pro for a while the second last generation. It drove me crazy comparing it to my desktop.

If you have the bucks for a laptop I would try and snag a refurb Mac Pro and pick up a decent monitor - S-IPS type panel like the Apple Cinema Displays or the Dell 2005FWP. I have the dell and have been pretty happy with it - rotates to portrait mode which has been great for some photo editing work.

Other option is to pick up a refurb white iMac - no glossy screens! Good luck