Which Macbook for an engineering student?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by zombrero, Jul 24, 2012.

1. zombrero macrumors newbie

Hi there.

I'm an engineering student looking for a computer to replace my old Macbook.
    I was wondering between the cheapest Macbook Pro 13“ or the 13“ Macbook air.

In my country they are around same price and it would be my main computer.
    I would mostly use it for internet, LaTeX, C++ and Matlab. I wouldn't miss the firewire, ethernet and the DVD drive.

I was thinking about getting the Macbook Air and upgrading the RAM to 8 gb or buy the Macbook Pro and get an extra SSD disk.

• Do you think the 8 gb RAM would be enough for the next 4 years?
    • I already have the Ipad 3 so would it be just stupid to buy another device which primary function is to be very light?
    • Is the screen in the Air much better?

2. biohead macrumors 6502

As an engineering student, I opted for the MBP as I can upgrade the RAM as and when, and cheaper than Apple's upgrade too (which you MUST buy for the Air at purchase time).

Some of my programs I require do take advantage of the full 16GB of RAM I currently use. Matlab however, I can't see it taking the a lot of RAM, unless theres some bad code or it is a gigantic program you're writing.

Just buy a 3rd party SSD if you feel you need one too.

3. MrAnthonySutton, Jul 24, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2012

MrAnthonySutton macrumors newbie

I'm also going to school for computer science, and web development and I didn't really see the need for the Retina display.

Has for you, I would most definitely buy the Macbook Pro. You will need the power just in case you have to dual boot windows. I would upgrade to the 8GB ram, but that is just me since I do a little video editing (mostly for promoting concerts).