Which MacBook Pro for a DJ

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by RoskoMac, Mar 10, 2011.

1. RoskoMac macrumors newbie

Hello all-I'm a noob to the forums here-but I do read Macrumors and Cult of Mac and AppleInsider and Engadget and visit the apple online store and dream of all things :apple: everyday :D I am a DJ in the market for a new powerful laptop with no windows security BS and DEP BS and all the other bolloxology associated with PC's. I will be doing Logic Express, iMovie and iphoto etc etc, syncing my iphone, using USB MIDI controllers with Ableton Live 8 and Traktor Pro with these minimum specs required for each respectively:

Ableton:
    Any G4 or faster (Intel Mac recommended)
    1 GB RAM (2 GB recommended)
    Mac OS X 10.4.11 or higher
    QuickTime 6.5 or higher
    DVD-ROM drive

Traktor:
    Mac OS® X 10.5 or 10.6 (latest update), Intel® Core™ Duo, 2 GB RAM

Keeping in mind that I would LIKE to install a partition to run Microsoft Flight Simulator on XP and have decent framerates and also that I need some good power(loading, cache, many MP3's and MIDI tracks playing at once/graphics for Flight Sim) and that I'm on a budget-would one of the April 2010 models be ok?? (I was thinking the 2.66 or 2.8 i7 in a 15 or 17" if i can find one) and what specs do you Mac Experts recommend?? I've looked at a bunch of different configs-def a 7200RPM drive would be great-but is it worth it for the RAM upgrade?? Help? I'm lost in a sea of Apple greatness and while I'd love to give every cent to Steve Jobs and Co. so they can wipe out Android(not that they haven't already IMHO) I can't go as crazy as I'd like to.
    Looking forward to being a part of the community(and owning a mac soon)

Cheers,
    DJ Rosko
    www.soundcloud.com/djrosko
    Free MP3 mixes for your listening and downloading pleasure! :apple:

2. mehanika Guest

Hello fellow DJ!

As i have no idea at what level you play, it is not easy to tell if this answer goes for you..