Which MacBook Pro for iPad Programming?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by apple.net, Jan 28, 2010.

1. apple.net macrumors member

I just started learning iPhone/iPad programming. I know any MacBook model is sufficient for iPhone development. But as for iPad programming, the one thing concerns me is the screen resolution. Does the iPad Simulator run exactly at 1024x768? If that is the case, then a 13" MBP at 1280x800 barely fits the landscape mode of iPad Simulator. What about the portrait mode of the simulator? Do I need a 17" MBP to accommadate that? Thanks!

2. etiger13 macrumors member

why not just get the 13" mbp for its portability and if you really need to develop for the ipad, just get an external display. it will limit your portability when testing on the emulator but how often are you testing? most of your time should be spent on the coding portion anyway

3. kolax macrumors G3

I'm sure it'll be scaled down. Apple can't expect people to test portrait mode and have to invest in a 1920x1080+ display.

If you want to find out, download the SDK now. It's free.. you can let us know what size it gets scaled down to ;)

4. Imperil macrumors member

I'm not sure if you've already figured this out on your own but it does not do any type of scaling like the users above suggested. The point of the simulator is the emulate the view you will be seeing on the device and therefore is exactly the same resolution.

5. Sneakz macrumors 65816

Sneakz

Personally, I wouldn't dev on a MacBook Pro. If I had to though, 17" would be my only consideration. Even the base config iMac is a better machine to dev on provided you get the keyboard with numeric keypad and get rid of that gimmick Magic Mousee.

6. Battlefield Fan macrumors 65816

Battlefield Fan

Like the other poster said get the 13" MB or MBP and then buy an external display.

This 27" 1080P HP monitor can be bought for less than $375. I have two :)