Which MacBook Pro should I Buy 13 or 15inch?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by anners88, Jun 17, 2010.

1. anners88 macrumors newbie

Hi,
    I am doing my initial research on getting a new MacBook Pro. I have had a PC all my life so getting a Mac is new to me and any additional help would be great. I am torn between getting a 13 or 15inch MacBook Pro.

Some of the programs I plan on running with MacBook Pro is Final Cut Pro and Adobe CS4, but I am definitely using this programs as a hobby and not on a hardcore basis. I don't plan on doing any gaming on the laptop I get. Will I notice the different in screen comfortability when running Final Cut Pro. Also, I am a grad student and like to carry my laptop everywhere I go. Also, when running Final Cut Pro will I notice the difference between 2.44 GHz or 2.56 or 2.66.

Thanks for any help.

2. jmdMac macrumors regular

Literally countless threads on this topic. Your needs are not unique in anyway, try searching MRoogle, see the link in my sig.

For you I would recommend the base 13". Should be plenty for your needs. If you want, you could always go for the base 15" like I did, I personally think it's the best value outside of the 13" models.

3. EthanXC1 macrumors member

This question is pretty common, but I can't stand the "mroogle" posts. He is new, maybe he doesn't know?

Anyway, this is a tough decision, and I would advise going to the store and playing with them a little. The larger screen would definitely be better for video/photo editing and the extra specs in the 15 model would help that also. However, the real question is are you willing to spend another few hundred dollars for those 2 inches. I think you could get by with a 13 and the extra portability couldn't hurt also. Again though, go to the store, see for yourself.

4. bob.loblaw macrumors member

15" if you need lot of windows open at once and need to interact with the multiple windows. 13" if you don't.