Which MacBook Pro should I buy?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Beatbeckham, Jul 26, 2012.

1. Beatbeckham macrumors regular

Hi guys.

I'm a student and I'm going to buy my first mac ever. I use my PC for writing, watching movies, listening to music, surfing, music production, may be gaming. And, I like to have a lot of HD space, at leaset 500 GB.

I just ordered a MacBook Pro 15": 2,6 GHz (2011) without Retina on Apple Store, and will recive it tomorrow.

Specs:

2,6 GHz - Intel Core i7
    8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 SDRAM – 2 x 4 GB
    750 GB Serial ATA-harddisk 5400 o/min
    SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    15-inch MacBook Pro Blank widescreen

But. Did I do a bad choice? I guess I'm going to use my Mac for years... Should I have bought the Macbook Pro with Retina Display? :confused:

2. ZacT94 macrumors regular

3. Beatbeckham thread starter macrumors regular

Not actually. I live in Norway, so the rMBP costs around 1k dollars more... Is it worth the price? And, I guess I need to buy Apple USB Drive in addition, because I burn a lot of CDs.

4. Sambo110, Jul 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012

Sambo110 macrumors 68000

The Retina screen is amazing (although the base model costs the same as the MBP you bought here in Australia), but you can't miss what you don't have. If that MBP is what you need and can afford, then be happy with it! It's still an amazing machine, just not as much when used side by side with a Retina model.

5. ZacT94 macrumors regular

Then the 2.6 GHz cMBP is good for you. However, do you need to take it everywhere and are fast start up times necessary for you?

----------

Where did you buy your rMBP?

6. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

From an Apple retail store.

7. ZacT94 macrumors regular

How much? Did you get it for the full RRP ($3199) or education discount?

8. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

Education discount. So another $220 off that price.

9. ZacT94 macrumors regular