Which MacBook Pro should I buy?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by louisaF, Nov 9, 2013.

1. louisaF macrumors newbie

I'm trying to decide between the new 13 inch MacBook Pro with retina display, with 8 GB RAM and 256 GB SSD, or the 2012 13 inch MacBook Pro non retina, with 4 GB RAM and 500 GB HDD. I'm a 17 year old student, and my uses are web browsing, watching videos, doing word processing, a bit of gaming, digital art, and photo and video editing. I was going to get the retina because it is newer, has better battery life, better screen, thinner etc. However I'm concerned about the low storage and the lack of user upgrade ability. I've heard that if something breaks, it will be very expensive to replace, and if my macbook gets slow as it gets old I won't be able to swap the hard drive etc to make it faster. I feel like having options to upgrade make it feel like a safer purchase, am I right to be concerned about these things? That's why I'm looking at the non retina MacBook Pro. It's cheaper, and has more memory. But I'm worried about spending that much money on technology that is becoming outdated. It also doesn't have a great screen compared to the retina. Is it still worth buying a non retina MacBook Pro or there no point? Which one should I get?

2. TualatriX macrumors newbie

TualatriX

In my case, three years ago, I bought an MacBook Air with 13' display, 4GB memory, 256GB SSD, it was the best hardware then.

Three year later, the memory is not enough for me now. 256G SSD is OK, because I can use external hard driver. I want to buy a new Mac since I can't upgrade my Air's memory, memory is really the most important thing.

So my advice is, try to buy the new MacBook Pro with retina display and make sure upgrade the memory to 16G, you rMBP will have a much longer life.

3. KeegM480 macrumors 6502a

KeegM480