Which macbook pro to buy

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by danb93, Jun 17, 2012.

1. danb93 macrumors newbie

i am not sure whether to buy the new 15 inch retina display model but am not sure if i will be able to afford it. so i don't now whether to buy the current 13 inch macbook pro or wait until it comes out with retina display. however i will need it for the end of september as i will be going to university. not sure what i should do!

2. SisterRay macrumors regular

I'm not an expert my any means but here was my thinking

1. Anything above £1200 is too much for a laptop (for me)
    2. I need something with a bit of power. I will be running VM's on it
    3. I like the idea of being able to upgrade when I need to, not all at once when I buy it

So this left me with the 13" MacBook Pro. I bought the base model, mainly because Apple decides redundancy and it is usually not based on the cpu but generally based on the generation of machine. I will over time add an SSD and add 16Gb of memory.

I hope this helps

3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

It's fairly unlikely that they'll update the MBP line again so soon after this update, but it's not impossible. There's also a good possibility they won't ever offer a retina display on the 13" model. Only Apple knows for sure. You could try waiting a few months, but if it was me, I'd buy what I need now, unless the retina display is critical for you.

4. macmastersam macrumors 6502a

what do you plan to do on the mac? there is a big differance in graphics on the 15" than the 13", but like someone said, £1200 or more is a bit much to be paying for a computer but hey, that's :apple: for you :D

what is your budget as well?

5. inaka macrumors 6502