Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

fdefore

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 21, 2009
DC
Just found this forum!

My current laptop (HP dv4335nr) no longer recognizes that the power cord is in it - so it only runs on battery. I've been told that likely means the motherboard is fried so it seems it's time to buy a new machine.

I need a machine for every day stuff (web browsing, word processing, dvd watching, video streaming, etc), graphic work (Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator) but I would also really like to attempt video editing and sound recording (READ: I have no experience with this stuff). This is what has led me to MacBook Pros.

So questions I have about MBPs...

1) NEW VS REFURB
I know that refurbs are slightly cheaper with the same warranty and access to AppleCare as new machines, but I know plenty of people who are anti-refurb (not necessarily anti-Mac-refurb just as a general rule). Which is the better / wiser investment? Would it just be better to buy new online and customize it (with Office, Final Cut Xprs among other things)?

2) BEST SPECS / CUSTOMIZATIONS
Considering my needs, I think a 15" screen would be best but as for the other parts: What are the best specs and customizations considering my uses? Which processor would be best (2.26 vs 2.53 vs 2.66GHz)? Is size or speed more important with a hard drive (320 vs 500GB or 5400 vs 7200RPM)?

Sorry if these questions are stupid. I'm fairly familiar with using computers but not so much with the technical side.

Thanks!

belvdr

macrumors 603
Aug 15, 2005
Regarding #1, the only thing the additional money gets you when you buy new vs refurb is a nicer shipping box. I just received a MBP 13" yesterday, and I have already forgotten about the box. The flashier box would have cost me $200 to obtain.

Since you get the same warranty, I'm not sure why anyone would say buying new is better.

Benchmob31

macrumors member