Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chambers7

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 30, 2007
I'm wondering what labtop system I should buy for my needs.

I almost always run iTunes and run web browsing and word processing. I am a college student and I want to be able to easily carry the labtop around with me.
I would do some video editing (not professional) on iMovie.

I'm wondering two things. The first one is: should I wait to buy... and if so, how long should I wait? (Should I wait until Santa Rosa or should I wait until Leopard?)
Also, people have sad all I will need is the high end macbook. (these specs in particular)
* 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
* 2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
* 200GB Serial ATA drive @ 4200 rpm
* Superdrive 6x (DVD+R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)

I figure that will be enough for what i need, but should i get the macbook pro so it will last longer? I don't suspect that my computing habits will change much and I can afford the high end Macbook Pro.

Please help me. Thanks very much.
GO :apple: !

dukebound85

macrumors Core
Jul 17, 2005
5045 feet above sea level
I'm wondering what labtop system I should buy for my needs.

I almost always run iTunes and run web browsing and word processing. I am a college student and I want to be able to easily carry the labtop around with me.
I would do some video editing (not professional) on iMovie.

I'm wondering two things. The first one is: should I wait to buy... and if so, how long should I wait? (Should I wait until Santa Rosa or should I wait until Leopard?)
Also, people have sad all I will need is the high end macbook. (these specs in particular)
* 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
* 2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
* 200GB Serial ATA drive @ 4200 rpm
* Superdrive 6x (DVD+R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)