Which Macbook to buy?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by coolstuff92, Oct 26, 2012.

1. coolstuff92 macrumors newbie

Hi,

I have a dilemma. I'm in the market for a new Macbook and would like some advice on which one to buy (I've tried reasoning with myself and ended up going around in circles).

Currently I have a 2008 White polycarbonate Macbook (Macbook 4,1). I am in dire need of an upgrade as my screen has started playing up (the backlight doesn't come on when the screen is open at a useable angle) and is generally slow. I had originally been waiting for a 13" rMBP but I don't want to pay that much for such an underpowered laptop, especially since I don't intend on upgrading for 3-4 years.

So my dilemma is 13" air or 15" Retina. I'm a university student and therefore will have UK student discount (15% off) so bear this in mind. The purpose of this computer would be an all round general use computer ie. general web surfing, editing documents, playing some games and potentially a small amount of mathematica or programming (I'm studying maths). I probably wouldn't carry this laptop around as all I need is a trusty pen! I certainly like the idea of a Retina display and for the same storage and RAM I get the 15" Retina for £280 more. I guess the big question is: Is paying £1600 today worth it compared to paying £1300 for a maxed out Air or even less for a regular (but outdated) Pro. Budget isn't an issue.

TLDR: Need new Macbook. Can't wait till Haswell. Budget not an issue. Will be used for casual gaming and general use over next 4 years. Which should I buy.

2. TheManOfSilver macrumors regular

TheManOfSilver