Which Macbook to buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by emma13, Jun 9, 2009.

1. emma13 macrumors newbie

I'm a graphics student; I use programs such as Photoshop a lot. I'll be attending my first year of college next year and I'm a little stumped on which one I should buy ... I heard there's a difference between Macbooks and MBPs for people like me who tend to use paint programs a lot, is this true? Which one would be more recommended? (I'm on a tight budget as well :p)

(Also I'd be really grateful to anyone who's fluent in French to tell me what these sentences [about Apple Store taxes in France] mean:
    2. Les biens doivent être exportés au plus tard à la fin du troisième mois suivant le mois où l'achat a été effectué.

3. Le demandeur doit apporter la preuve de l'exportation sous la forme d'un récépissé estampillé par les douanes.

I thought taxes were already included in French pricings?)

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Laptops just got updated yesterday. If you're into graphics, I recommend you to get 15" 2.66GHz model because it has both GPUs (9400M + 9600GT).

3. scienide09 macrumors 65816

scienide09

For basic Photoshop use, the entry or second-tier MacBook should be alright. You might find that the larger screen size and better display on the 15" MBP line is more handy for your use.

As for your translation issue, my French is a little rusty, so I had a look and then compared to what Google Translate has to say. This is the gist:

Are you planning to export your purchase for sale? If not, I wouldn't worry about it.

4. JCastro macrumors 6502a

I would say get the best one that you can afford. Any of the MBP's will work for you. It is just a matter of what size screen you want, 13", 15" or 17".

5. Ricanlegend macrumors 6502a

I recommend the same as him , get one with a dedicated graphics card

6. emma13 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for all the advice! I'm definitely considering the 15" :)