Which Macbook would be best for me?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by wildwizard99200, Nov 28, 2007.

1. wildwizard99200 macrumors member

All right, so I am a hopeful mac convert. I'm utterly tired of Windows as I have seen the same features and issues for almost 12 years. I can't say I have any experience in the Mac department, but recently I have been going to our school's Mac lab. Very nice, sleek looking, and I haven't had any trouble yet with them and since they are used to the public, I find that very impressive.

Back on topic~ I'm a college student, obviously. I'm currently looking at the macbook and macbook pros.

Background info:

I'm currently a Biology major, so I will be writing a lot of discussions and other stuff. (P.S. I haven't gotten into any upper division classes so I'm not too sure what to expect)

I would like to learn some audio/video/pictorial editing techniques as I have always been fascinated by such things but neither have the software/time/instructions to learn (I'm not a great self-learner).

What I like about each model:
    The macbook has a decent look, and seems very easily portable. I don't care too much for the small screen or the keyboard. I would also like an independent video card just incase I decide to start playing a MMO again. Would the CPU dependent video card be enough to handle such things as well as the audio/video/pictorial editing?

The macbook pro has an even more decent look. I like the aluminum case very much so but I'm curious as to if it is easily scratched or other cosmetic issues. The backlit keyboard look pretty cool too, but is it really all that useful? If I got a macbook pro it would defiantly be a 15" model with a 2.6 Ghz processor. 2 gb of RAM seem fine, and so does the hard drive as I will be using an external anyways for the time machine function.