which Macpro for digital art?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Da.sein, Apr 28, 2009.

1. Da.sein macrumors newbie

Hi everyone first time here.

I work as an illustrator and it's time for a total hardware upgrade.

Photoshop and Corel Painter pretty much sums up what I use the computer for.
    I don't mind being able to edit a video once in a while but to be honest everything else except painting and drawing (I rarely use even filters) isn't a priority. I just need the brush to be snappy in relatively big files (300dpi A3 files area is a common format)

With all that in mind along with the thought of buying something that is going to be able to perform for some time I decided to go for the 2009 Macpro quad@2.93 but I realized that the difference in price from the 8core 2.26 is insignificant.

The question is, if price is not an issue which choice is more appropriate for my needs and the programs I use. Higher clock speed and less cores or the other way around?

Thanx in advance, and I apologize in case this has already been answered, since I didn't have time to look around the forum myself.

2. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

neiltc13

Adobe's programs are currently not multithreaded, which means that they run on only one core, so having 4 or 8 will make no difference in performance.

Personally, I'd go for the 2.66GHz Quad machine. The increase in price to the next clock speed up is not worth it in my opinion.

3. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

Just get a regular computer with a lot of ram, the processor isnt going to help.

4. jmccullough108 macrumors 6502a

jmccullough108

5. Little HZ macrumors regular

Little HZ

I agree.

6. Da.sein thread starter macrumors newbie

I am going for the 2.66Ghz. Everyone keeps telling me that even the smallest Macpro is an overkill for this kind of tasks. You all tend to agree with that, and I have absolutely no reason not to believe it. Thanx everyone.

7. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000