Which MBP configuration is better for creative professional?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Echoblue, Dec 7, 2009.

1. Echoblue macrumors newbie

I believe that I am in the final stages of selecting a new MBP. What a process this has been, I think it is making me crazy! Would appreciate any additional advice. I am a professional graphic designer so I use most of the Adobe suite. Thanks!

1. MBP 15" 2.66 with a 500gb at 7200rpm or
    2. MBP 15" 2.80 with a 500gb at 5400rpm

I keep toying with getting a 17" but feel like it borders on just to big if I need to truly take anywhere. I figure I can always add an external display to make up for it.

2. striatedglutes macrumors 6502

Edit: I didn't realize that as a creative professional, you may need more than 256GB of storage on your boot drive. If this is the case, you may feel that the cost of an SSD is too high right now. The rest of my rant still applies though.

Neither. You won't notice a difference between 5400 and 7200. Get an aftermarket SSD, or if you aren't comfortable with installing it, get the SSD straight from apple. Skimp on the processor if you have to -- going from a conventional hard drive to a solid state drive will trump any processor speed boost.

On the size issue, go to the store to use a 17" model and see how "big" it really is. If you can't go to the store, cut out some cardboard in the dimensions of a 15" and 17" to compare.

Don't be scared of the size, people! It's not that bad! The screen real estate gained will boost your productivity, and you won't need the external display (unless you were definitely going to buy one anyway, which it sounds like you aren't).

Going from 15" to 17" is 1.12" wider (add 0.56" to each side), 0.69" deeper, and the difference in thickness is negligible.

3. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

Badger^2

4. Jiten macrumors 6502a

Jiten