Which MBP for me?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JR1993, Jun 1, 2011.

1. JR1993 macrumors regular

Hi, I'm new to macbooks, i have researched them but never owned one.

I will be starting university in October and I would like to buy a Macbook Pro, but i'm unsure which one to get.

I'm pretty sure I want to go for 15", portable but still good for using on a desk.

These are the things i will be doing:
    • Internet browsing
    • Word processing (LaTeX)
    • Learning to code (C,C++,java.....etc)
    • Light gaming (COD4, Counter Strike Source)
    • Using some moddeling software (I will contact uni about this bit, not sure of the programs)

So, from what I have said, I would like to know if I go for the 2.0/2.2/2.3GHz system, and whether i need the 256mb/1GB GPU.

My guess is that 2.0GHz CPU + 256mb GPU is enough, but im not 100%

Also, I would like to know if all I have said are actually possible to do on macs. There is still a small doubt in my mind about switching from windows (even though I will probably use bootcamp too)

If you need to know anything else, just ask.

Thanks

2. xriderx11 macrumors regular

15" that's 1700$... Has dedicated graphics card and it is good for coding an etc

Sent from my iPhone4 using Tapatalk

3. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

basesloaded190

The base 15" will do everything you throw at it. No need to step up to anything more at this point.

If you have programs that are Windows specific, you can always install windows 7 on the machine. I would check with the School to see if the software you need is also available for Mac, which it usually is.

4. JR1993 thread starter macrumors regular

Thank you for the reply.

Im pretty sure i would go for base 15" now. I will probably get 500GB 7200rpm instead of 5400rpm, to make it a bit quicker. (Any reasons I shouldnt do that?)

Also, I would upgrade to the hi-res screen, but anti-glare or not anti-glare? Best option might be to take a torch into the store, see what happens.