Which MBP should I chose?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Koncdead, Jun 21, 2009.

1. Koncdead macrumors newbie

I am really stuck in what I want. Let me first give you info about myself. I am currently a undergrad college student. I want to replace my current desktop which is an 20" 2.4 GHz aluminum iMac. I want to keep the power but want the portability. I like big screens because small screens make me feel a tad bit cluster phobic. But the desks at my school are kinda small. So I'm worried that by having a 15" will not be sturdy. Also since the 13" have SATA 1.5 I may want to get an SSD later when prices drop.
    Edit: I have Safari(TONS of Videos), iTunes, Mail, and iChat running with everyday use. I occasionally use Photoshop, Sims 3, and iWorks(When needed for school).
    With that being said here are my choices and prices:

MacBook Pro:
    13" 2.26 GHz, 2GB Ram, 160GB HDD, SD Card Slot, Serial-ATA 1.5, (8GB Ram Max) + free 8GB iPod Touch = $1099

Refurbished 15" 2.4 GHz, 2GB Ram, 250GB HDD, Dedicated Graphics Card, Express Card Slot, (4GB Ram Max) = $1349

Refurbished 15" 2.54 GHz, 4GB Ram, 320GB HDD, Dedicated Graphics Card, Express Card Slot (4GB Ram Max) = $1449(I feel this is a great deal because of the upgrade of Ram and HDD)

Hardware Upgrades I want:
    Seagate 500GB 7200RPM HHD = $139.99
    OR
    Seagate 320GB 7200RPM HDD = $89.99
    OWC 2x 2GB Ram (4GB ram) = $64.99

External Display later in my llife(but sooner if I get it the 13"):
    HP2519m 21.5" LCD = $189.99
    mStand = $49.99

Software:
    Microsoft Word 2008
    Snow Leopard
    VM Ware(if needed)
    Windows XP, Vista, or 7
    Adobe Photoshop CS4

Any info would be helpful. Aloha.

2. ecstasy macrumors 6502

ecstasy

I'm a soon-to-be undergrad student, too.

I'm going the 13" 2.26GHz + display route, like many here are.

I'll have to worry about getting a display after college, considering I'm not dorming.

3. Unprocessed1 macrumors 65816

Unprocessed1