Which MBP to get (need to get it tomorrow..)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by nathanyeah, Dec 25, 2011.

1. nathanyeah macrumors newbie

Hey guys, I've been checking out these forums for awhile now, and I've decided to join to post abit of a problem I am facing..

I'm currently at university studying graphic Design, majoring in photography. I'm just about to go into my third and final year so I thought now would be the time to get a mac, as I've been using a decked out (17inch) windows laptop for the first 2 years.

Now I read here that there's a possibility that there could be retina display in the next MBP but I also read that the MBA line would take over, and thus getting the retina display.

Anyway so I could either wait for more news on that

OR

Go to my work tomorrow (I work at an apple reseller) and get a MBP while they are having 10% off (and I get an extra %5 ontop of that) which beats the education pricing by about ~$100 depending on what model.

--
    now the options

should I be looking at getting a 15"?

or would a 13" be okay?

I've read alot about the RAM being really important so should I go with the cheaper of the 13" or 15" and update the RAM?

and is the 1gb dedicated graphics on the 15" really that important for what I do, (Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator and occasionally After Effects)? I don't play any games and I don't do anything with 3d..

I would get an iMac, but I'm probably leaving Australia after 2012 (either traveling or moving to work) and I don't want to be trying to move with that.

And a 17" is out-of-the-question, it is far to big. Portability is really important to me, but so is speed.

So which should I choose and how should I alter it to make it suit me the best?
    --

THANK-YOU FOR READING MY NOVEL :)

2. vitzr macrumors 68030

vitzr