Which Monitor?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dannewell15, Aug 26, 2007.

  1. dannewell15 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #1
    Hey. I am considering getting a monitor for my Macbook and was wondering if anyone knew if there is a monitor that has dual DVI inputs so that I could connect my Macbook and either a PS3 or an Xbox 360 and have full HD gameplay?
     
  2. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I don't think that the MacBook sports dual-DVI. Do you have a MacBook Pro?
     
  3. dannewell15 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #3
    sorry. I didn't mean it in that way. what I want is a monitor with a res of 1920x1200 that has 2 DVI inputs - One for my Macbook, one for a HD console.
     
  4. Xander562 macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #4
    You could try a Dell Ultrasharp. Those usually have a crapload of inputs. :cool:
     
  5. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #5
    Yes but none of them have two DVI inputs. You have to know the OP wants to hook two DVI plugs into one monitor, at least that is how I read it.
    What you want is a DVI splitter. I use it at work for dual dell screens and it's ok. I don't know about gameplay, but hey...I don't game at work!
     
  6. Virgil-TB2 macrumors 65816

    Virgil-TB2

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #6
    Yeah, I've seen a ton of computers/cards with dual DVI out but I can't remember seeing a monitor with dual DVI in. Usually you use a splitter/switcher for that.

    I'm not sure what the point would be anyway, as it would be like having the switch built in to the monitor and the only advantage to that would be that the button to do the switch is on your monitor instead of on the desktop beside it. Hardly seems worth it.
     
  7. dannewell15 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #7
    Oh. Ok. I'll check out the Dells. Does anyone think that the ACDs will be updated and have 2 dvi inputs?
     
  8. dannewell15 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #8
  9. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
  10. dannewell15 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #10
    In that case, if I got a monitor that had DVI and Component, I could connect my Macbook via DVI and an Xbox Elite or PS3 via Composite?
     
  11. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #11
    Yes, you could do that.
     
  12. dannewell15 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
  13. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
    I have a BenQ FP241W. Not only is it an excelent display, but comes with a complete zoo of connection options...

    One DVI-D Input
    One Analogue Input
    One S-Video Input
    One Composite component Input
    One HDMI Input
     
  14. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #14
    Many displays, in addition to DVI, will have a VGA (DB-15) analog video input, which supports up to 1080p (or even higher if the output hardware supports it). I know the 360 has VGA-out, but I'm not sure about the Wii and the PS3.
     
  15. dannewell15 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #15
    That would be ideal wouldn't it?

    One DVI-D Input-----Macbook
    One Analogue Input
    One S-Video Input
    One Composite component Input
    One HDMI Input-----PS3/Xbox Elite

    Thanks very much for that everyone, especially MacsAttack. :)
     
  16. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #16
    There is also the BenQ FP241WZ - an updated version of the same monitor. it is a bit more pricey. I have not seen one myself, but it sounds like it is jsut as good as the one I have. Best to check out the full specs and decide if you need the extra gizmos they added...

    I had problems getting hold of the W - they were so popular that it was hard to find any in stock.
     

Share This Page