Which NAS for my needs?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by PolloLoco32, Jan 2, 2014.

1. PolloLoco32 macrumors newbie

I have never used a NAS before, however, currently my imac has a dying hard drive and I don't want to stress out about my data again.

Here is what I would like in a NAS:
    --Support for PC and Mac as my enviroment is mixed.

--Depending on if I can afford a 2 bay or 4 bay, I'd like either Mirrored or RAID 5 setup.

--I'm hoping that It can be set up for designated folders on the local machine to download automatically to the NAS (Preventing me from having to think about saving to both the local machine and NAS).

--I do make some money on the side from Photography and I would like to be able to log in to the NAS over the internet say from my iPad to show off some of my work.

--I'd like to be able to link specific documents or folders to someone without giving them access to the whole NAS content over the internet.

--Beyond that, what would be nice is to be able to stream content (Movies and music) to either my Apple TV or console (Currently have xbox 360, PS3, I will probably get an xbox one and sell the xb360 and ps3 though.)

Let me know if any of these requests are unreasonable or if they can't all be found in 1 NAS. Of course price is always a consideration, but I'd rather have something that is reliable and easy to use, than saving a few bucks for something with a terrible user interface or some other shenanigans.

2. phrehdd macrumors 68040

phrehdd

You may want to look at smallnetbuilder site and see the NAS reviews. I think you will find that perhaps Synology and QNAP may have some NAS offerings that you will find fit your list of needs.

Things you may want to investigate -
    Web facing via the NAS
    FTP services
    iSCSI
    Shares created with permissions
    VLAN