Which new MBP solution is best for photo/video editing?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by m4gnus, Mar 7, 2011.

1. m4gnus macrumors newbie

Hi All.

I am going to buy one of the new MBP's within the next few months.
    I just came to two different solutions, but I am really unsure which of them will be best for me.

The first one is to buy the 2.0 ghz with 8 gb ram and a 256 SSD.
    The other one is to buy the 2.2 ghz with 8 gb ram and a 128 SSD.

It's about the same price, and I can't afford more than what these cost (around $2800).

But my question is, if I will be better off with the 128 gb more space, or the faster CPU (and graphics I guess?).
    I work with very large files, both audio, video and photo (I am studying to become a photojournalist, and we are doing a lot of multimedia).

I can easily load in 64 GB's of video footage/photos, and work in Lightroom, Photoshop and Final Cut Pro or After Effects at the same time.

Will it be a pain in the ass only having the 128 gb of space, or will it be worth it when I can have greater CPU speed?

I am really confused.

Maybe I should also say, that I never play games, I wouldn't even consider installing Windows - and I think the Adobe programs (I also use InDesign sometimes) and video software would be the hardest for my computer to run.

Thanks a lot, and best regards,
    Magnus

2. MultiMediaWill macrumors 68000

Neither. If money is not an issue I would go with this SDD and install it in the optibay.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227515&cm_re=1tb_sdd-_-20-227-515-_-Product

3. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

aznguyen316

Considering it seems no one really complained about the 330m graphics not being enough for the uses you've said (outside of gaming as usual) then the 6490m will be fine since it's basically the same via benchmarks as the older 330m. Now you get a nice quad core and I'd get the 256GB over the 128GB any day if it was the primary and only drive.