Which nMP Graphics card to choose

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ihcman, Dec 14, 2016.

  1. ihcman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Location:
    Spindale, NC
    #1
    I am looking at ordering a nMP to drive 2 LG 34UG98x monitors. What would be the best graphics card to run those, the D300, D500 or D700. The computer will be way overkill, as it will only be used for web based dispatch software, email, and web browsing for office. Just need to have 4 to 6 windows open and viewable at one time.
    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #2
    D500. Personally I would go for d700. Man..I can believe I'm thinking of pulling a trigger to get nmp 2013.
     
  3. chriz_r macrumors member

    chriz_r

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    #3
    Seems like you'll be running at full resolution on both displays and need the entire real estate of the displays to be utilized? I'd suggest d500 so you can add more monitors than your planned two in the future. Multiple monitors need more vram. D300 will be fine at 2GB but it's close to practically being maxed out at your proposed resolutions. No need for a d700 at all.
     
  4. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #4
    D700. Because it can never be upgraded. If you don't have enough "oomph", you're stuck.
     
  5. __dontpanic__ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    #5
    D700 for the same reasons stated above. Despite being replaceable, the cards are only upgradable if Apple (or an interested third party) decide to release new hardware. This hasn't happened in the three years that the nMP has been out. I wouldn't gamble on being able to upgrade to any potential new GPUs given the amount of time that's elapsed - Apple are likely to introduce something that makes them incompatible.

    Personally, I would hold out if you can. Paying top dollar for +3 year old hardware isn't the greatest investment. With that said, I don't know if I could bring myself to spend any serious money on a nMP (even a newly refreshed version), given the issues I've had with ones at work (multiple GPU failures) and the proven lack of upgradability. Very seriously considering the switch to Windows given that most of my work is in Adobe CC and most other apps I use have cross platform support. The reasons for sticking with Apple are rapidly being outweighed by reasons to leave.
     
  6. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #6
    I agree..but it's that it's the latest model and soon 5,1 would be vintage category.
     
  7. Daniel Reed macrumors 6502

    Daniel Reed

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #7
    Yes, exactly.
    And trust me, the D700 ain't overkill for much at all.

    If you don't mind a little work, consider only getting a 4-core as you can upgrade the CPU yourself for half to a quarter of the cost Apple charges (its not that hard at all, search youtube videos)

    I suggest getting the 1TB SSD option. Apple did a stealth upgrade and the newer 1TB option is close to 50% faster now, and buying the same newer apple oem ssd on ebay runs upward to $1,600, close to 3 times the cost of buying it from apple in the first place.

    Also, don't pay the huge markup for Apple's micron-based RAM. Stick to the base 12 or 16GB option and look on amazon or b&h for The 64GB ECC reg 16x4 dimm kit specifically for the nMP that only runs about $400-500


    I hear ya on that. I just ordered one a few days ago(w/ D700s) mainly because i wanted a bit more power and even at almost 1,100 days old, it's still the most powerful Mac availible Brand-New from Apple by huge margins.
     
  8. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #8
    While I totally understand the sentiment above for the d700, I'm really not sure you're going to notice the difference between a D300 and a D700 for what you do.

    But like everyone said, if you ever even THINK about doing anything that requires a GPU, you've painted yourself into a corner if you got the D300. You will never upgrade this thing, never (in spite of what goMac says).

    The dual D300 has 4 TFLOPS total -- that's almost four times the 2016 rMBP basemodel 15" laptop which Apple claims can run like three 4k (5k??) monitors. Granted you can't do 5k on the trash can because 2011 technology (which the d700 is based) ain't so good no more.

    If it were me, obviously I'd get a 5,1 mac, but if I had to get a trash can, I'd get dual D700 for fear of needing that power in the future and having to put the trash can in the trash can and buying a new computer--but once again, for what you say you're doing today, I strongly doubt there will ever be a moment you notice the difference.
     
  9. Daniel Reed, Dec 15, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2016

    Daniel Reed macrumors 6502

    Daniel Reed

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #9
    D300 has a crippled bus,
    is based on an older gen tech then the other options,
    and should be avoided at all costs.

    Only pro apps will use both GPUs; thus only 2 Tflops of performance on a good day for the D300,
    about the performance of a Just-OK laptop card 3 years ago, barely enough for one HD screen.


    I have not used or seen a nMP in action w/ D300s (only used w/ D500s/D700s);
    But I've heard & read reports of interface/GUI display lag with the D300s.

    The D500 should be considered a minimum for the nMP.
     
  10. slughead, Dec 15, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2016

    slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #10
    I'm in the same position, I've never used a trash can pro outside of an Apple retail store. However design flaws are design flaws, if it's got GUI lag because Apple screwed up, then that's all there is to it. I'll take your word for it. I can run a 3840x1440 display extended off my 13" rMBP from 2013 with its iGPU (piece of ****) with no gui lag. I can watch my cat videos on youtube while doing my web dev thing and not one chunk to be had. I can see each frame of banana cat being adorable (HIGHLY important to my workflow).

    [​IMG]
     
  11. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #11
    Not refurbished?
     
  12. Daniel Reed macrumors 6502

    Daniel Reed

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #12
    No, new, not refurbished.

    Although, one may argue: at this point how is it not refurbished?
     
  13. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #13
    I'm sure they rechecked the gpu issue before reselling.
     
  14. ixxx69 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    United States
    #14
    i've got the base model D300 driving two 4K displays and it's awesome. For your stated needs, D300 is plenty. I use top end GPUs at work, so I would notice if it was sluggish.
     
  15. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #15
    Yeah I agree with slughead. I can't see web-based dispatch software taking advantage of hardware video acceleration except in the most trivial manner.

    If web-based dispatch software will be the intended purpose of the computer for the entirety of its usable life, the D500 and D700 would be completely wasted.
     
  16. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #16
    There you have it.
     
  17. ihcman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Location:
    Spindale, NC
    #17
    Thanks for all the feedback. Would it be best to order from Apple in insure I get the Faster SSD? Or should a instock one at BandH have it as well?
     

Share This Page